Monday, March 8, 2010

Oscar Night Nods

By Howard Burns
(March 7, 2010)

"The Hurt Locker," the tense war story that examines the rigors of being a soldier in an elite U.S. Army bomb squad in Iraq, was the big winner at Sunday's 82nd Academy Awards, taking home six statuettes, including nods for Best Picture and Direction.

Adding to the drama at Hollywood's Kodak Theatre was "The Hurt Locker's" Kathryn Bigelow becoming the first woman ever to win an Oscar for directing a film. In announcing the win, presenter Barbra Streisand summed up the moment by exclaiming, "The time has come."

"The Hurt Locker's" winning ways began early in the ceremony when former journalist Mark Boal got the Oscar for Writing (Original Screenplay). The film was also recognized in the Film Editing, Sound Editing and Sound Mixing categories.

Hollywood stalwart Jeff Bridges received the Oscar for Actor in a Leading Role for his performance as hard-living country singer Bad Blake in "Crazy Heart." It was Bridges' first win after five nominations, the first coming in 1971 for "The Last Picture Show."

Sandra Bullock came away with the award for Actress in a Leading Role for her role in the real-life story "The Blind Side" as Leigh Anne Tuohy, the mother whose family took in and nurtured Michael Oher, a homeless and traumatized boy who would go on to be a professional football player. It was the first time Bullock had been nominated for an Oscar.

Christoph Waltz continued his impressive awards run by taking the Oscar for Actor in a Supporting Role for his role of Col. Hans Landa, the sadistic "Jew Hunter," in Quentin Tarantino's "Inglourious Basterds."

Also riding a wave of momentum was Mo'Nique, whose harrowing portrayal of an abusive mother in "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" earned her the Academy Award for Actress in a Supporting Role.

Like Mo'Nique, a winner Friday at the Film Independent Spirit Awards, Geoffrey Fletcher was honored again Sunday for Writing (Adapted Screenplay) for "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire."

Pete Docter's "Up," the Pixar film featuring the voice talents of Edward Asner and supporting actor nominee Christopher Plummer, was named the winner in the Animated Feature Film category.

Argentina's "The Secret in Their Eyes" (“El secreto de sus ojos”) won the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film.

A complete list of winners follows:

Best Picture
"The Hurt Locker" Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro

Actor in a Leading Role
Jeff Bridges in “Crazy Heart”

Actor in a Supporting Role
Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”

Actress in a Leading Role
Sandra Bullock in “The Blind Side”

Actress in a Supporting Role
Mo’Nique in “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Animated Feature Film
“Up” Pete Docter

Art Direction
“Avatar” Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

“Avatar” Mauro Fiore

Costume Design
“The Young Victoria” Sandy Powell

“The Hurt Locker” Kathryn Bigelow

Documentary (Feature)
“The Cove” Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens

Documentary (Short Subject)
“Music by Prudence” Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Film Editing
“The Hurt Locker” Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Foreign Language Film
"The Secret in Their Eyes" (“El Secreto de Sus Ojos”) Argentina

“Star Trek” Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Music (Original Score)
“Up” Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song)
“The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from “Crazy Heart” Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett

Short Film (Animated)
“Logorama” Nicolas Schmerkin

Short Film (Live Action)
“The New Tenants” Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing
“The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing
“The Hurt Locker” Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Visual Effects
“Avatar” Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
“Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher

Writing (Original Screenplay)
“The Hurt Locker” Written by Mark Boal

No comments:

Post a Comment